Drupal Book :: drupal 6 javascript and jquery

hay Friends,
Another good book for Drupal community: Drupal 6 JavaScript and jQuery released by Packt. This is 2nd great book by ‘Matt Butcher’ released on March 2009. This book greatly explain how to make it easy to work in Drupal using jQuery or simple java script. I read a free chapter of this book and i found it well versed about using JQuery in Drupalish modules. I am really dying to read this cool book 😛 .

A good Book for Drupal 6 and JQuery

A good Book for Drupal 6 and JQuery

Hopefully, I’ll get it very soon INSHAALLAH 🙂 .

One thought on “Drupal Book :: drupal 6 javascript and jquery

  1. javivilchis says:

    I just finish reading this book. It was very well versed. However, the only thing I was just furious about is that it gives you many samples on what could go wrong and not many examples as how to create it in order for it to work perfectly. Also, it does not give you many examples as how to apply cool effects with jquery/javascript, it is all based in theory.

    here is the only code that I found helpful in the book:

    never hack the page.tpl.php to embed the script files, instead use this code inside the theme.info file:
    scripts[] = js/javascript.js
    scripts[] = js/script.js

    then inside the script.js files use this to initialize the function:
    $(document).ready(function(){ }

    here is one thing I didn’t get clear on:
    Drupal.behaviors.myModuleBehavior = function (context) { /*start of functions here*/}

    anyways, I hope you find that book more useful than I did. I am creating a super heavy drupal 6, ajax, jqueryUI based website that I will probably will be able to show in the next month or so.

    great website! Keep on coding!

Leave a Reply

